Don’t forget to check the expiration date on your….

Carseat. Yep, I said carseat. As it turns out, carseats have a standard life of about 6 years and supposedly (I haven’t looked yet, since my carseat is in the car) it is listed on the carseat somewhere on the back. It seems that after about 6 years, the plastic starts to deteriorate. I guess this makes sense, since things left outside or in the sun or heat tend to deteriorate, especially plastic.

Since this is ‘Green Week’ everywhere I turn, it has made me aware that the carseat manufacturers don’t even have some sort of recycling program set up for their carseats. NOPE, not even one manufacturer. I haven’t found one…yet, anyway. The only thing I’ve found in the entire US is a carseat recycling program in Portland, Oregon. Go greenies, go. Those Portland people are so good at being green. They are evennumber 2 on the top 25 places to live a more eco-friendly life, according to Sperling’s Best Places (www.bestplaces.net). And I was doing some research on composting ealier today and they even have a discount program for the Earth Machine (www.earthmachine.com). You can get it through a program there for $35, instead of $85! What a deal.

Anyway, enough about green-ness for now. Biscuit is clapping so well now that it even makes a cute little sound! And, she also said Bye-bye to me last night–and even waved. I was so proud! What a genius!

I love this pic of her. It makes her look so small. I think she was watching Sesame Street. Every time she hears any music, whether I’m singing, it’s on TV, or even a TV commercial, she starts to clap.  Oh, and she also has an attachment object! That yellow dolly in the pic is the lucky winner. Every time I lay her down to nap or sleep, she grabs that little dolly to hug with her left hand/arm and then sticks her right thumb in her mouth. I need to get a video of it. It’s so cute!

One Response to “Don’t forget to check the expiration date on your….”

  1. Auntie Trina Says:

    RATS! I was hoping my little cow tow would be the favorite. She is so adorable and I want to cry because I miss you guys so much!
    XOXO Auntie Trina

Leave a Reply

